Snickerdoodle Banana Bread Love.

Snickerdoodle Banana Bread (w chia seeds!)

As part of embracing and choosing hope in this new season, I recently joined a couple of mommy groups on Facebook. It’s quite a diverse variety of mixes with lots to learn in the blessed “you too?!?!” so I’m quite excited! 🙂 🙂

There are the expat mommies where I can search out familiar comforts, a breastfeeding group, a recipe exchange group specific to cooking for young children, to my current favorite (because it is really the only group I can actively participate in now), a recipe exchange group of home cooked food!

Every day, these mommies get in their kitchen and cook up deliciousness then share their pictures with little hints and tips. It is fun and so very inspiring!

One of the ladies recently shared a banana bread recipe she made in her rice cooker and I could not stop thinking and obsessing about banana bread after that.

It’s weird because I normally stay as far away as I can from bananas (I think it’s a texture thing) but somehow when you mash it up into a loaf, my goodness is that yummy yummy yummy.

I tried to make banana bread the same day she posted but tragically realized that all the monkeys in my house had eaten all the bananas!

…so, like any sane woman, I went to the store and bought two combs (so there would be plenty for them and me!!) then spent the next couple of days just waiting for it to ripen.

(Why does this story sound so familiar?)

Let me just tell you, watching and waiting for bananas to freckle is so much like watching paint dry!

Alas, the day finally came and I was ecstatic!

Not only did it fall on the weekend, but it also happen to be the type of rainy lazy late brunch and a quiet afternoon of comfy yoga pants and good music, baking.

Miss Rosemary, one of my favorite mamas in the world, also introduced us to a cinnamon chip breakfast loaf when we were home this summer that seriously changed my life.

Thanks to Pinterest, a banana bread, snicker doodle-y, cinnamon chip baby was born and it was so so very good.

I think the only thing that could have possibly made it any better was if I had any dark chocolate chips in my pantry to add to it.

Seriously.

And because happy accidents are the best, thanks to our favorite make-one-share-one policy, all our bread loaf pans are currently visiting different friends so these ended up the perfect individual-sized little muffins!

Even better, I made some extra for a neighbor-friend who also happens to be our dentist so they were a nice little festive birthday treat without being too sweet!

I really really hope you try this because oh my happy, the smell of freshly baked cinnamon, the warm out-of-the-oven bite of goodness and love, plus the addition of chia seeds totally writes it’s excuse to have two or six in one sitting because it’s healthy right?!? 😛

Let me know how it goes for you!

xoxo

Snickerdoodle Banana Bread Love

(Adapted from Oh Sweet Basil)

Snickerdoodle Banana Bread Chia Seed Muffins - 01

2-3 ripe bananas

1 3/4 cup flour

3/4 tsp baking soda

1 1/2 tsp cream of tartar

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/3 cup butter, softened and unsalted

1/3 cup sugar

2 eggs

1/2 cup chia seeds

3/4 cup cinnamon chips

2 tbsp cinnamon sugar

Snickerdoodle Banana Bread Chia Seed Muffins - 02

1. Preheat oven to 350f

2. In a bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, cream of tartar and salt. Set aside.

Snickerdoodle Banana Bread Chia Seed Muffins - 03

3. Cream butter and sugar together until mixture is fully incorporated and has turned into a light yellow color.

Snickerdoodle Banana Bread Chia Seed Muffins - 04

4. Slowly add one egg at a time to the beater, making sure to crack it into a separate bowl to check for freshness just in case. It will seem runny, don’t panic! 🙂

Snickerdoodle Banana Bread Chia Seed Muffins - 05

5. In a separate bowl, mash bananas using either a fork or a potato masher.

Snickerdoodle Banana Bread Chia Seed Muffins - 07

6. Alternating between the flour mixture and the mashed bananas, slowly begin creaming into the batter.

Snickerdoodle Banana Bread Chia Seed Muffins - 06

7. Stir in chia seeds and cinnamon chips ( a mixture of 1/2 cup chia seeds, 1/2 cup cinnamon chips, and 1/4 cup dark chocolate chips would also taste really good!)

Snickerdoodle Banana Bread Chia Seed Muffins - 09

8. Pour into a greased loaf pan or lined muffin pan. (At 1/3 cup batter each muffin, the recipe should yield about 10 muffins)

I forgot to take a picture of this step because I was busy mourning the death of my favorite little spatula. (Don't drop it on the floor!)

I forgot to take a picture of this step because I was busy mourning the death of my favorite little spatula. (Don’t drop it on the floor!)

9. Sprinkle the top with half the cinnamon sugar and bake for 40-50 mins for the loaf and 30 mins for muffins. Cake tester should be clean when poked in the center of cooked muffin.

Snickerdoodle Banana Bread Chia Seed Muffins - 12

10. Sprinkle remaining cinnamon sugar on top and let it cool a little on a cooling rack before sneaking a bite!

Snickerdoodle Banana Bread Chia Seed Muffins - 15

p/s. Don’t bother buying the cinnamon sugar bottles from the store. It is easy, quick, and much cheaper to make at home! Just stir together 1/4 cup sugar with 1/2 tbsp cinnamon powder. Perfect for snicker doodle banana bread, french toast, regular buttered toast and even for your coffee!

p/p/s. The heart cupcake toppers? They’re made with washi tape, toothpicks and a Sharpie! Want more washi tape goodness? Please meet my love.

Snickerdoodle Banana Bread Chia Seed Muffins - 14

Oh, and don’t forget a little love note! 🙂 (I censored it for privacy but the gist of it was birthday calories don’t count!)

p/p/p/s. Here’s the other chia seed cake recipe I shared! 🙂

IMG_3773

“We all have those days where it’s like ‘Do other people have these thoughts? Because I feel like they don’t.’ But then I ask you about it, and you’re like, ‘I was thinking the exact same thing.’ And that’s why you’re the best of them all.”

♥♥♥

Inspired, curious, hungry, or want more? Subscribe to the blog (menu box on the right) or like our facebook page for the latest recipes, bump-dates, love stories and crazy! 🙂 

Or better yet, leave a cooking tip or share a favorite soul-comforting yummy! 

4 thoughts on “Snickerdoodle Banana Bread Love.

  1. You got me at banana and chia seeds.I have got to try these!!
    I make lactation banana cakes for a living and these Snickerdoodles sounds pretty awesome.
    Those toppers are adorbs!!

Please share your thoughts!

