Day 1: Little Things. #100happydays

Life is beautiful

We are in a season of crazy in our lives. It’s the good kind of overwhelmed and the bone aching type of tired but it is good.

So so good and we are grateful.

Sometimes, it means fueling up on a hundred cups of coffee and go! go! go! but sometimes, it also means that this space gets neglected. 😦

I am sad about my writer’s block and my inability to have any brain cells left to even form a coherent sentence but I promise that it’s about to get better.

My brother legally married the love of his life last week (YAY!). I love my new super adorable sister-in-law who is a special kind of magic I will tell you about on a different day.

I’m also so excited to share pictures from their ROM party last weekend which involved a lot of party planning happy and fun surprises that comes with the awesome of having another girl in the family!! 🙂

It has been something kind of fierce for D+W to love and be loved by our favorite littles and family who came from all over to celebrate.

To add to the mix is work. I’ve somehow stumbled and bumbled my way into a new role that is both terrifying and quite exciting.

I am learning so much and am so stinking proud of how it is shaping out to be. It is quite incredible to see it all come into fruition and the end-of-the-day exhaustion is a satisfying peel-me-off-the-floor if that even makes sense?

Stop the glorification of busy.

I love this quote. It speaks so much and so I’ve been consciously attempting to make sure that we save up some time for living life too.

Stealing dinner dates with friends, emergency souffles with BFFs, meeting up with childhood friends that are home for a holiday, or even just trying to squeeze in a little one-on-one time with our “people”.

My friends have taught me so so many times before the sacred gift of having someone else say and act that you are important to me.

That these other things really can wait, but knowing that you are loved and special and worth the extra hours means so much more than money or sleep ever will.

But most of all, in this season of crazy and chaos, J and I are trying to anchor ourselves to one another.

Remembering to still save each other our bests even if we might fall asleep on each other mid-sentence most nights, or even if we pop Emergen-C and B Complex supplements like candy, and even if it’s been a big day and there are too many stories to tell, we choose, and attempt, and try to do life together.

I have to consciously stop myself to reprioritize and say, yes, singing this stupid made up song on our car ride together right now is important.

Yes, I will stay up late or get up ridiculously early to pack you a lunch box.

Because that smile he gives me when he finds mangoes or a sandwich for a little comfort in the middle of his crazy?

So.

worth.

it.

It is my back hurts and his back hurts and we are too tired to think but our mouths grin and we catch each others eye during the opening credits of The Amazing Race and HECK YEAH we’re going to pull out our bad dance moves for the next 30 seconds!

It is a silly ritual, and a ridiculous ritual, and a hard-to-watch ritual, but it our ritual.

I know no one else in the world is going to celebrate my crazy the way this boy does so I do the running man with him.

No excuses.

No buts.

But here’s the special and here’s the crazy and here’s the have I lost my mind?

I am committing myself to post every day for the next hundred days.

Because even in my so full plate and so full heart, I don’t want to forget.

I don’t want to forget to celebrate our happy.

I don’t want to forget that today, my little happy was our awesome Production Executive surprising me by leaving hot-off-the-press business cards on my desk with my new last name.

Day One: #100happydays | wander.kate

And I stared at it in awe, realizing how far we’ve come, and how special this ride has been.

Because six years ago, I said I do to a man that was so wrong for me in so many ways and I didn’t take his last name.

I think that as far up my ass in denial I was, and as much I couldn’t admit it, I knew I had made a mistake.

I knew that we were broken and that love did not look like this and I struggled and struggled with giving up my last name because I didn’t even know who I was anymore.

I didn’t know who I was with this man and I didn’t know that I could give up the last piece that still made me me when I knew, even if it I couldn’t admit it, that I had already given up so much.

I desperately held on to this last shred of who I was and what I knew.

I don’t have to anymore because I no longer have to prove myself.

I no longer have to prove my worth, or that I am enough.

I no longer have to remind myself that I am Khong and that being a Khong means great love stories and big dreams and being safe.

I will always be a Khong.

I am safe, and I am loved even if I make a hundred mistakes, or dinner is late, or I pick the wrong dress, and say the wrong thing, because with J, I am home.

With J, I know that God writes incredible love stories that really happen to flawed and broken people like me.

That He creates beauty from my ashes and that more than anything else, with J, I know that I don’t have to do this, but that I am honored to do this.

I don’t feel like his property, I don’t feel like I am losing who I am, I don’t feel like I have to choose between who I was and who I could be.

I don’t feel like J’s love for me is dependent on what I do right or wrong because J’s love for me is unconditional.

In a way that made me laugh and just to prove His point, God saved me a man that when I told him about my 100 day challenge over dinner and asked if he wanted to do it with me, blew my mind and said yes.

The boy that posts nothing and doesn’t really enjoy social media that much, agreed to blog 100 days with me.

He teased that he would take 100 pictures of me in my mumu because that’s his happy.

It made my heart explode a little and I told him that it was sweet but it really wouldn’t work.

Then we had strawberries for dessert and he took out his phone to take a picture.

“Because I like strawberries and it makes me happy!”

The little things.

It’s the little things and this boy that teaches me that it doesn’t have to be complicated.

That it’s really quite simple.

Just celebrate the little things. 

100 days.

100 pictures.

100 moments of happy.

Will you join us? 

 

BONUS! :

Day One: #100happydays | wander.kate

J and his happy! 🙂

 

“Enjoy the little things, for one day, you might look back and realize they were the big things.”

~Robert Brault

 

Know someone that could use some encouragement and love today? Share links below and also on our facebook page! Come join the happy! 🙂

7 thoughts on “Day 1: Little Things. #100happydays

  1. Congratulations to your brother!! And congratulations on your new role, Creative Director, how exciting! And well done and bestest wishes for your 100 days! I told Tzy ling I’d do it at some point, but, er, scared to start lah! In the mean time I shall enjoy your happinesses! 🙂 *huuugs*

  2. dang, i love this so much! i had a thought i’d do it for the last 100 days of the year though.. bit like a summary of all the best 100 days. lol.

    CONGRATS on the new role woman!!! always love me some “hot-off-the-press” new & shiny business cards ;D

  3. Pingback: 100 Happy days | Time flies when you're having fun…

Please share your thoughts!

