Sunday Eight: Pink Movember!

Sunday Eight: Pink Movember | wander.kate

SURPRISE! Today’s Sunday Eight is brought to you by Pink Movember. I let my husband draw a finger ‘stache on me and rocked it with pride.

The statistics are pretty scary, about 1 in 6 men will be diagnosed with prostate cancer and at least 1 in 5 people will suffer from depression/anxiety within the next 12 months. That’s terrifying, but it also means we have to step up our game, girl or boy, and preach prevention and support. Check your balls, grow a ‘stache, and please know it’s okay to say you’re sad sometimes.ย 

It’s been a deliciously colorful busy busy busy week for us which may or may not explain how I fell asleep writing this on Sunday night. Oops. So much good and exciting and fun happened that last night, I just had no juice left. Boo! But to make up for it, I have stories and reviews and oh my,ย was it a good week! ๐Ÿ™‚

Sunday Eight: Pink Movember | wander.kate

Only one half of the Spice Boys! We had so much fun we forgot to take photos. Blogger fail.

1. Favorite moment of the week:
We had some friends over for a potluck-karaoke-game night and us loud bossy girls dominated with an unending stream of pop songs and oh so awful awesome rapping. The best part was when, as a joke, Kel Li plugged in ‘Spice Up Your Life’ for her closeted 90s-boyband-fan husband and out of nowhere, BAM! all the boys came to life and pulled out their instant dance moves and really put their heart and soul into the song. So. Freaking. EPIC.

Who knew? Just who knew the shy, reserved, strong and steady boys felt so passionately about the Spice Girls?!?! ๐Ÿ™‚

Sunday Eight: Pink Movember | wander.kate

There were two r+j teams. This is the less cool dorky one. ๐Ÿ˜›

Also, we discovered a new app called Charades and it is free fun fun fun. J and I rocked the “food nation”, “brands”, and Nigel’s customized “mamak food”! I was kinda stinking proud J knew so many Malaysian foods, but more than that, I was kinda proud that we have our own language and stories and clues. It sounds so silly but that was kinda special for me.

I think you learn a lot about each other when you play a game like that with friends or partners-in-crime, who they are as a person, your history with them, and how they communicate. Download it and bring it to your next dinner party, it’s a nice little ice breaker and hilarious. ๐Ÿ™‚

2. Reading

Sunday Eight: Movember | wander.kate

Chasing Harry Winston by Lauren Weisberger

I explained last week my love affair with chick lit. ๐Ÿ™‚

But anyway, here’s what I read this week. It starts off slow, but it picks up halfway. I have to say I was a little disappointed though, I wanted to love it, but I just didn’t. The story was typical sappy good but the pacing was weird. I think I was more in love with the pretty lace pump and rings on the cover. Boo.

3. Listening:
I shared this earlier this week but I am stupid in love with Read All About it by Emili Sande. I heard it just after I hit publish on the Dear Seventeen letter and sobbed my way through releasing all the nervous emotions I felt about that letter. LOVE.

4. Obsessing:
So a couple of weeks ago, I saw a girl with ombre pink hair and I kinda fell in love with the idea.ย Well, I had an appointment with my favorite Yoshi this week for a badly needed root touch up and crazy of all crazies, I channelled my inner Geri and TADAH! ๐Ÿ™‚

Sunday Eight: Pink Movember | wander.kate

Oh. My. Love. !!!

It’s very My Little Pony pink at the moment but it’ll fade to a subtler pale pink after a couple of washes which I am kinda ridiculously excited about. He explained it as “your favoorriiitteeee pink in 10 washes!” and I kinda died laughing because how does he know me so well?

You know that holy shit moment when they pull off the towel and you kinda have all your toes and fingers crossed that it comes out exactly like how you imagined it to be? It was six gazillion times better than that. There may or may not have been squealing involved.

If you’re looking for a new stylist, I highly recommend Yoshi from Number 76 Style, Telawi Square Bangsar branch. Call and make an appointment (+603 2284 0076) way in advance though because the slots fill up quickly.ย I used to go to a different atas hair salon, and while they did a good job, I always walked out poor and armed with more products than I will ever need in a lifetime. Also, it always freaking took at least half a day because they serviced a gazillion people at the same time.

In three hours, Yoshi and Ivanย did my roots with collagen-enforced dye, double dip bleached and dyed my tips (pink and blonde), trimmed and touched up my cut, tan-san washed my hair, put in two treatments (ultra sonic ion and mirabond) AND finished it off by styling it into loose sexy curls. My total bill wasย less thanย half of what I used to pay AND I did more than what I used to do at the other place. Plus I got a free tub of wax for J with the loyalty credit I had. WHAT?! YES!!!

p.s. I love Ivan his assistant. He’s quite a character and very entertaining. I’m both so sad and so proud that in 5 weeks, he’ll be upgraded to a fancy stylist position he’s worked so hard on but I’m going to miss him!ย 

The biggest selling point for me is that it is an ethical salon and they are so very thoughtful and polite. They apologize constantly for silly things which is kinda adorable, like “sorry you have to wait while your dye sets”, or “excuse me while I pass by you”, or “sorry I made you wait 15 seconds”, “thank you for coming to see me”, “thank you for sitting down”, “thank you for standing up”, etc. They randomly yell out Japanese niceties throughout your visit so it’s kinda entertaining and charming. Most of the time, I have no clue what everyone is saying but they are all so very nice. True story, there was a stylist next to us and I was trying to tell Ivan I was so excited(!) but I couldn’t think of the Chinese word so she laughed and translated. And then Ivan translated for Yoshi. Lol. But really, despite the language barrier, they have yet to epically ruin my hair so it’s all good.

I love that they try to provide a complete experience and the little things are not overlooked. A speculoos cookie and organic tea for a little snack in between treatments, a little massage just before they blow dry your hair, an eye patch to protect your makeup with a superman cape to protect your clothes while they rinse your hair, a large selection of current magazines in different languages, a little blanket in case you get cold, a little bejeweled box for you to put your jewelry away, and they even switch out your cutting cape (white) and treatment cape (black) so they can see and work better on your hair.

I actually tried them on a whim from a recommendation of some friends. It was just supposed to be a one-time thing because I wanted a digital perm and I wanted someone who knew what they were doing to work on it. The branch I go to is across the street from my old salon so I was nervous that my old stylist would see me cheating on him for a perm. Hah. So there I was, all excited and sweet Yoshi explained that he could do it but he didn’t want to do it because he didn’t want to damage my hair further from all the terrible abuse I’ve subjected it to over the years. He wanted me to grow it out before he did the perm. I was disappointed but sort of in awe. Any other place would have just done it, no questions asked, then sold me a treatment and hair masks after.

It’s quite a feat to walk into a salon here and not be hard sold everything in the store and every treatment available. I will say that I almost always go in for an ultrasonic and tan-san treatment because that shit is magical. ๐Ÿ™‚ But it wasn’t even “sold” to me the first time, a friend had recommended it so I had asked for it! ย More than how pretty my hair feels and looks after a little session, it is how they make me feel like a person over a paycheck that keeps me coming back again and again.

Also, any stylist that gives me ombre brown/blonde/pink hair is officially my stylist for life! ๐Ÿ™‚

I’ve kidnapped all the girls I love in my life and forced encouraged them to experience the awesome. The neat thing is that if you mention that you were recommended, you get a 20% discount! I only get it if I go with you so there’s really nothing in it for me, I just like sharing and this salon is something I can really stand behind because I love how they run it. It’s hardworking honest and kind people that really love what they do and it shows.ย 

5. Yummy

Sunday Eight: Pink Movember | wander.kate

I’m (light your butt on fire) Spicy in Section 17, PJ

So for two weeks running, we ended up spending a good part of Sunday with our friends. I think it’s because we started going to Saturday night church so now our Sundays are kinda happily free and awesome. I even managed to sneak in a massage just before lunch! What?! Yes! I told J I wanted to have her babies it was so good and he just gave me the “oh my crazy wife” look.

But anyway, over laughter and our lunch of Macau Pork Chop ‘Tai Lei Loi Kei’ Sandwiches (which is another very interesting concoction in itself) with friends, we mentioned that we had just had some yummy Thai food for dinner the night before, and everyone at the table started raving about I’m Spicy in Section 17. Like shit you not, they were orgasmically raving about the food.

And then they started describing the steamed fish in lime and chillies which is my current Thai obsession and I was all holy.crap.we.need.to.go.there.now.!!

So by the time we were done with lunch followed by a coffee break, it was close to dinner time, and the boys and I decided that this plate of steamed fish must be had. It was raining and the place was packed and when the guy asked if we wanted to wait 15-20mins for a seat, it was not even a question. (He also warned us about a possible long wait time for food because the kitchen was backed up which for both accounts turned out to be really short and not a big deal at all)

Total aside, while waiting, there was the sweetest daughter on a date with her dad and it looked like he had had a stroke. She gently fed him and talked to him and I am pretty sure my heart exploded they were so adorable together. I wanted to pay for their meal but they had already finished before I could get to it. It’s one of those special moments where we all kinda looked at each other and went this is love, and this is real, and this is what matters in life. And bless my boys, with no prodding from each other, they all jumped up when the couple was leaving to go get their umbrellas to walk them to their car since she couldn’t hold an umbrella and her dad at the same time. I was so damn proud…their mamas raised them well these boys.

The place serves unpretentious, rustic, authentic Thai food. It is not fancy but it is so freaking delicious you won’t even care that they may have carried the street theme into their bathrooms. And that is all I will say about that. Because the food, oh my, the food. When we were done, I wanted to reserve seats for the next whole week so I could bring all the people I love to come experience the yum.

Even their house drink was so very good. The best way to describe it is it’s like a frozen Asian Margarita mocktail. It is a refreshing blend of pandan, lemongrass, lime, mint leaves, with just a hint of salt and the right sweetness. It’s a small carafe for $17 but who am I kidding, we would have paid $30 it was so good.

The fish came with an extra bowl of awesome and was perfectly steamed, just tender and very well seasoned. Nick and I exchanged “the look” when we found the belly stuffed with lemongrass and spices because that’s just care and a punch of flavor in a dish. Also, you know you’re with friends you love when you can unabashedly eat your favorite parts (the head! :P) and know they won’t even judge you. Oh and the boys, the sweet gentlemen made me feel like a princess. Screw this, I’m only going out to dinner with the boys from now on because man, it’s great when your husband does it but when the whole table serves me and then saves me the last shrimp, oh my! What an honor!

We ordered the Tom Yam soup (thick) and it was such a good blend of spicy and sour. The spice is intense though, my wimpy self begged the boys to be kind so we only ordered a 2* but the sweet warm burn was still very much present. They take their name seriously and we ordered a lot of ice waters throughout our meal because we are masochists and couldn’t stop eating the spicy goodness.

The catfish mango salad was also interesting spicy deliciousness. We had just ordered a version of it the night before from a different Thai place but this one by far knocked it out of the park. The delightful blend of textures and flavors were just a lot of happy on the plate. HAPPY ON THE PLATE YO.

The red curry came with chopped up peanuts blended into the thick gravy, which would have normally really annoyed my silly nut-hating self since there was no mention of nuts in the description but I was so happy with my fish and soup that all was forgiven. I can’t remember if we ordered the small bowl or the large bowl but it was a pretty small portion and kinda reminded me of Northern Indian food portions. Just enough but pricey. I tried a little bite and it was flavorful and authentic but not the best we’ve ever eaten in our lives. We’re being picky though, between the fish, soup, salad, and drink, everything else (red curry chicken, pork skewers and mango sticky rice) that followed was kinda screwed. It was all really good, but the stars of the meal by far were definitely the first four.

Sunday Eight: Pink Movember | wander.kate

The not-cheap-but-not-super-expensive bill that came with a little piggy that reminded us of Lodah! ๐Ÿ™‚ We had 4 people dining btw.

But would I come back? Hell to the yes. They have a large menu and I plan on eating my way through it with friends and family and a lot of yummy laughter.

6. Working on:
I’m working on a post of my favorite things to do in the city that I’ve had a lot of fun “researching”. ๐Ÿ˜› There’s a sneak preview of it on the wander.kate FB page! Follow us on there for daily fun and silly! ย ๐Ÿ˜›

7.Capturing:

Sunday Eight: Pink Movember | wander.kate

I love this silly peek-a-boo boy.

Sunday Eight: Pink Movember | wander.kate

Truth.

Sunday Eight: Pink Movember | wander.kate

Did you know if you invite food blogging friends with fancy cameras to a dinner party, you get really nice photos of yummy satay? ๐Ÿ™‚ (Thanks Jason)

Sunday Eight: Pink Movember | wander.kate

Mom’s Char Siew contribution! The recipe is in last week’s Sunday Eights!

Sunday Eight: Pink Movember | wander.kate

I don’t know what I’m doing but Kel Li looked too adorable not to post.

Sunday Eight: Pink Movember | wander.kate

So the rule is if I get my hair or makeup done, my Captain America takes me out on a date! That’s a good rule eh? ๐Ÿ™‚

Sunday Eight: Pink Movember | wander.kate

I originally took this photo because I loved the modern “old school” mug it came in. But I stole a sip of it and this Salted Caramel something from Kaffa is actually pretty yummy! We also shared a chocolate cake but I’m just going to pretend that didn’t happen. ๐Ÿ™‚

8. This week’s love:
(Click on image to be directed to the post)

Dear seventeen year old self | wanderkate

And that’s it! ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope you got to do something fun and eat something delicious this week too. As usual, please like us, follow us, fb us, pin us, stalk us, etc. because yes! ๐Ÿ™‚

Thanks for reading!

I like having you as my friend because sometimes I get in a goofy mood, and start laughing at things that aren’t really funny. And I need someone around that will not judge me for that.

10 thoughts on “Sunday Eight: Pink Movember!

  1. Love the hair and I’ve always wanted to read that book because the cover looked so pretty. Guess you really can’t judge a book by its cover. :/

  2. Pingback: Chinese New Year 2014: Home. | wanderkate

  3. Pingback: This kind of love. | wanderkate

  4. Pingback: Day 9-16: Celebrate! #100happydays | wanderkate

Please share your thoughts!

