Sunday Eight.

Sunday Eight: October 27 2013

I was just telling a friend yesterday that it is absolutely insane to me that it is November next week. I want to pause time and just savor all the crazy and good. If I close my eyes, I can still see us running balcony-to-balcony catching the 2013 New Year fireworks like it was just yesterday. It made me think of all the little things piled down below big things trying to make space in our memories…which is the basis of Sunday Eights. A weekly recap of little and big “current” things in a cosy corner to hoard and share the precious nows.

A favorite moment, little silly’s I’m obsessing over, yummys that made my belly happy, things I am working on, favorite music/reads/posts. But most special to me, favorite pictures of the week from my super fancy iPhone 4 that you may or may not have to lovingly stab and say sweet nothings to as it crashes.

It made my heart smile picking which memories and pictures to post and that is exactly the heart of Sunday Eights: reliving and remembering to celebrate the precious ordinary.

♥ ♥ ♥

1. Favorite moment of the week: 

Sunday Eight: Favorite

I love it when we’re taking random dorky selfies, and he leans over to kiss me and my heart explodes.

J and I went for a little random date. It wasn’t fancy, the food wasn’t even really all that good. But the company was so very special. In the busy busy busy of the every day, and the catching up, and work, and all the things that compete to gain real estate in our calendars, sometimes it’s so nice to just take a little time-out just the both of us. Even if they were all sold out of the Haagen Daaz waffle he lured me with. We talked and talked and laughed and he held my hand underneath the table and I felt like the luckiest girl in the world. I think I may have even cried and told him how much I love him, and love us. And then we watched Castle. 😛

2. Reading:

Sunday Eight: Love from Both Sides

Buy 1 and get the 2nd book for 50% off at Borders!

Let me preface this by saying I read and edit serious books all day at work so on my down time, I like to read pure absolute trash. Like People magazine, Buzzfeed, DailyMail brain drain trash. I should probably also admit that I buy a lot of chick lit crap. And better than that, my selection is mostly based on a pretty cover and what’s on sale so I can take it in the tub with me.

TMI? Try it! It is a ritual I really love. I kiss my husband and lock myself in the bathroom for an hour. I pick a book, draw up a nice warm bath, throw in some eucalyptus-y smelling salts and it’s like all the crazy from the day just melts away.

I am currently reading Love from Both Sides by Nick Spalding. It is so freaking hilarious. The cover promised right and it is a laugh-out-loud-to-yourself-like-a-crazy-person funny. It’s an easy silly read and it makes me happy! If you live in KL, I’m more than happy to share and I have the second book too (Love and Sleepless Nights)! 🙂 🙂 🙂

3. Listening
I discovered two new favorite songs this week. I freaking love YouTube, there is a joke that describes perfectly my relationship with YouTube. Something about how one minute you’re looking up a music video and five hours later you’re watching a tutorial on how to talk to a giraffe. This is especially true late at night.

At work, I usually stream KLove or Pandora but if I’m not feeling it, I pick a song on YouTube and then hit whatever playlist it’s attached to. Which is how I stumble upon gems like these:

Runner Runner – I Can’t Wait

or this

Rescue – Worship Mob

4. Obsessing

Sunday Eight: Nails

Don’t stare at this picture too long. It starts to get really creepy.

I am currently ridiculously *in love* with black and gold. And in Racheal world, it’s go big or go home. Which means I am currently hoarding a kazillion gold earrings and necklaces, gold watches, and a wardrobe full of black. Okay, I lie, the last part is a permanent staple.

But seriously, I am in love, love, loving these nails. It’s Jessica’s Matte Black and Sephora by OPI’s Only Gold for Me as a highlight. OBSESSED.

5. Yummy

My mama tried this Chinese Char Siew recipe this week and it is seriously delicious. It was so good and so in demand she made it twice! J and I sat there and tried to stop ourselves from finishing the whole plate and failed miserably. We “okay one more bite” it and stopped just shy of licking the plate. So so so good. If my mama didn’t already perfect this, I’d be running out to buy some pork belly just to make it.

6. Working On

Sunday Eight: Shoes

Sometimes, you just have to put your shoes on and GO!

After all the crazy of the last couple of months, I’m trying to get back into a consistent workout routine and oh my, did we have some killer workouts this week. True story, I was so freaking sore it hurt to carry a bottle of soy sauce to the checkout counter. Not that it really started that way.

Sometimes, I get home and am completely exhausted and demotivated. On days like that, I tell myself to just change and put my shoes on and go from there. Not always, but most of the time, just changing and putting on my shoes puts me in a better mind frame. That’s your little tip of the day. 😉

My favorite work out this week among the endless burpees and squats and resistance band torture was getting to do it on a fit ball. It helps with your balance and core and you should try it. It is hilarious fun. There are a bunch of exercises you can do with the ball but start off easy and just try to kneel all fours on the ball and hold it before gradually building it up to no hands, hands raised high, with weights, and then standing!!

It sounds and looks so much easier than it is! It’s extra funny when you can do it with someone else and have mini challenges. My trainer and I had a show down. He won of course but some day I’ll get him if I don’t kill myself first.

7. Capturing

Sunday Eight: SriRacha

You would have thought I hit the lottery I was so excited! After four years, I finally found *real* California-Vietnamese SriRacha in a grocery store! This is the same store that also carries kale! I may or may not have exclaimed that I could have kissed the store merchandiser I was so excited! Thank you B.I.G.!

Sunday Eight: Jelly Cake

Every year, my aunt and uncle deliver a special birthday cake made out of jelly/jello. It is my favorite and layers of awesome. It comes in all these silly characters and it makes me laugh…but mostly for me, beyond the fun of eating it layer by layer, this cake is love and home.

Sunday Eight: #Leng Lui

Silly Rachel hamming it up for her #lenglui Coke! Leng lui means pretty girl in Chinese and we are pretty sure that the waiter chose it just for her! 🙂

Sunday Eight: Sammy boy

Remember the wedding in Havre de Grace I talked about? This is my friend Sam, he teased me endlessly and it may or may not have involved some crazy lady almost trying to pick a fight with him because of a silly joke we had running where he called me a bimbo. It was an epic night. But anyway, he sent me this picture today and it made me smile and remember that sometimes, even though stepping outside of my comfort zone is scary, it’s also a good thing.

Sunday Eight: Halloween Mousse!

By no planning on our own, we somehow ended up right in the middle of a Halloween costume party on Saturday night after church. J and I weren’t sure what we got ourselves into but the jack-o-lantern dessert made me laugh and they had duck confit!

Sunday Eight: Impromptu BBQ

We threw an impromptu BBQ on Sunday! We accidentally met up for lunch and it kinda morphed into a whole day full of fun, laughter, and karaoke! Love love love moments like these.

Sunday Eight: BBQ

The girls prepped and while the manly men took care of the grill! We made garlic bread, burgers, bacon-wrapped jalapeno chicken strips, bacon-wrapped enoki mushrooms, spicy pickled cucumbers and pineapple, mango shrimp and corn ceviche, vegetable kebabs, and grilled shrimp!

Sunday Eight: Ballerina Pink

I stole this picture from J’s phone! He was taking a picture and I was goofing off. Everybody was making fun of my “ugly bag” but I love that thing to death. I’mma keeping it real yo! 😛

8. This week’s love:
(Click on images to be directed to the post)

The Story. 

 

The Story

I love this quote!

Fun Ways to Use Washi Tape

Washi Tape Love - Fun Ways to Use Washi Tape!

Oh, you’re wondering why I put my face on there too? Lol it’s because I didn’t have enough images but I do LOVE WASHI TAPE! 😛

Well, that’s all I have. 🙂 How was your week?

p.s. Please don’t forget to follow and share the wander.kate page on FB! We are so close to 200 likes it’s kinda awesome and surreal at the same time. Who knew?! Thank you for sharing and liking, it means so much I wish I could hug all of you because you know I totally would. 🙂

♥♥♥

“Once in a while, amidst all your bad days, you’ll have a good day. A great day even. Make sure you remember those days. Keep them safely in your pockets, maybe even a jar on your desk because you need to know that there are and will be better days. You need to remember how on those days you felt warm inside, like you’ve just drunk a hot cup of tea; like a small fire was ignited inside of you. Hold on to that warmth. And never let it go.”
~ Markida Scotland

3 thoughts on “Sunday Eight.

  1. I saw the picture of you nails and I was like I have navy and gold on my toes right now! But I read it and it was actually black…either way tomato tomahto right? Loving gold now. Even my iPhone case has gold on it and I love it. My obsession: Gold Gold Gold and White! 🙂

    • Yes, the gold and white is pretty sweet too. I’m thinking about getting the gold phone when it comes out here but I feel so conflicted. My loyalty is with Apple but the Samsung phone takes really sweet pictures! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Sunday Eight: Pink Movember! | wanderkate

Please share your thoughts!

