The Story.

I posted matchy-mcmatchy headers yesterday on facebook but I wanted to share it here too.

It makes my heart all warm and fuzzy and gives me all kinds of heart explode goodness.

And everyone always needs their warm and fuzzy heart explode tank filled right?

It certainly helped me with the Monday and paperwork blues.

What inspired me to write the first one was I was thinking of a friend who is about to make a big big life-changing journey in her life. And it is filled with the awe of the new and the special excitement of a once-in-a-lifetime experience, but there is also so so much riding on it. It feels infinitely huge, and I wanted to encourage her and tell her that hey, win or lose, go big or go home, we would be here. It didn’t matter to us, we were still going to be so damn insanely proud of her crown or not. But more than that, that she had a God that loved her to the moon and back, and in the lonely and the scary that He was going to have her back every step of the way. I wanted her to know who she was and whose she was.

And then I thought about how we all need to hear that every once in a while. I need to believe it to preach it.

So I made big huge banners and preached it.

😛

♥♥♥

“I love this picture. It was taken on the morning of our wedding day, I was putting on my shoes and getting ready to see J for the first time. The anticipation, the excited nervousness, the brimming six thousand emotions of love and grace and redemption and yet there was still so much forgotten beauty in the little things (thank you Adam!). 

This is also my current absolute favorite quote. Interestingly enough, it’s actually a Mormon quote, but the message behind it speaks to me.

It implies so much and so little. That I am His and that I am his. That I am a woman obsessed with being comfortable in my own skin. That I can breathe in, breathe out, and give myself permission to do great things. I have finally figured out that I am not alone but more than that, it is because I am strengthened by my faith and my relationships.

I am a child of God, a daughter of a Savior, my mama’s mini me, a wife to my best friend, a be-there-if-you-need-me friend. And I will love, and shine, and stand secure in my place in the world.

Because for the first time in my life, I finally understand, who I am, and whose I am.”

………………..

wander.kate on facebook

♥♥♥

“I love this precious moment with one of my “groomsmaid” BFF. (I had two! *squeal*) It is one of my favorites that our ninja photographer snuck in.

I love that it is real, and genuine, and so very special. Even though he had been part of our posse all day, it was the first time I saw him in the ballroom after our ceremony and I was so excited!

Yohan has been with me through thick and thin, from fun crazy college partying to the indescribable, heartbreaking hurricane rebuilding work or the scary protective hunkering down of a tornado warning. Yohan knows parts of my life that no one else does and he honors these stories by guarding them.

We’ve been friends and housemates and everyone knows that I am fiercely protective of him like a mama bear. I still remember the first time he met J and they both ran off to play table tennis and it was a done deal. I was so damn happy I thought I would die.

Yohan did the honor of driving our wedding car and we couldn’t have trusted anyone better with these sacred moments. That car ride w J after our tea ceremony and on the way to our I do’s is one of the most precious memories I have of our day. The day was here, and it was finally a moment that it was just us, no cameras, no eyes, and we could just breathe and soak in the wonder of becoming.

A lot of people ask why I chose this picture as the header for my blog. More typically it would have definitely been some love sick or dorky picture of J and I, but this is my community. My kampung.

And my blog for me is the extension of that. Welcome to our community, our kampung. It is safe here and you are loved for exactly who you are and are not.

I hope you join us and stay a while. ♥ “

Big love,

r

You are more sinful than you could dare imagine and you are more loved and accepted than you could ever dare hope.
~Tim Keller

2 thoughts on “The Story.

  1. Pingback: Sunday Eight. | wanderkate

  2. Pingback: Oh, sweet love. | wanderkate

Please share your thoughts!

